Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events.


May 2024

Honorary Fellowship and WPF History

Eric Taylor

WPF Honorary Fellowships

The first Honorary Fellowship was awarded to Eric Taylor LRPS, APAGB in its inaugural year – 1994 for his services to photography. He was awarded an APAGB in 1989.






Bob Watkins FRPS, APAGB, AFIAP Cardiff C C, Newport P C and the Cardiff Digital group was honoured. Bob has always been extremely generous imparting his extensive knowledge of photography and has delighted audiences for many years with his particular brand of judging!



2002 Three fellowships were awarded at the Welsh Salon Opening


W.A. Stuart-Jones W.A. Stuart-Jones ARPS, APAGB
Bryn Evans APAGBBryn Evans APAGB
Derek Rodway FRPS, APAGB Newport C C Derek Rodway FRPS, APAGB.

Ainslie Stuart-Jones Swansea C C. Ainslie was notable as theWPF Exective C.E.L.O.working single-handedly preparing many Welsh Salons as well as the other competitions.

Bryn Evans Aberdare C C served on the WPF for thirty years as Salon Chairman and worked in conjunction with Ainslie. Bryn was Editor of the federation IN PRINT publication for many years and WPF President from 1983-85.
Derek Rodway Newport P C was honoured in 2002. For many years Derek has been a leading Natural History expert and always encouraging to new lecturers on the WPF circuit. He was also a leading figure in the RPS.
2009 – three Honorary Fellowships were awarded






Philip Davies AFIAP Hon FWPF

Phil Davies Swansea Camera Club has worked tirelessly for many years at club level starting the Swansea International Salon which brought Wales to the attention of the photographic world.


Kevin Thomas Gwynfa Camera Club has served on various RPS panels for many years and is noted as one of our favourite judges. Kevin has always been extremely generous with his time and expertise for all federation events.


N.S.B. Pat Reynolds LRPS APAGB

Pat Reynolds (The Vale Photographic Club) thoroughly deserves his award for services to the federation both at club level and as President of the Federation from 1981 – 1983 and 1993 – 1995.

All three were surprised and delighted with their awards presented at the WPF Annual General Meeting 2009, but none more than Pat who had several delegates reaching for their hankies. Outgoing President Roy Thomas praised them for their unstinting service both to their clubs, the federation Executive and Welsh photography in general.


2010 – three Honorary Fellowships were awarded

David Hunt AWPF DPAGB  Barry Camera Club has been a stalwart of Barry Camera Club for 50 years. He is also a member of the WPF Exec. supporting all its events for many years. He is also a presenter.


Roy Thomas Neath & District Photographic Society is Immediate past President of the federation and was also President from 1991 – 1993.He has held numerous posts on the Exec. working unstintingly to further Welsh photography not just in his own club and the federation but also on the Photographic Alliance of Great Britain where he is currently WPF Exec member. He is also a well known judge.
Both these awards were presented at the WPF AGM.




Philippa Wood AWPF CPAGB Gwynfa Camera Club received her award at the opening of the Welsh Salon of Photography.  She has held numerous committee positions both at club and Exec level and was responsible for developing the corporate image of the federation She became WPF President in 2006/7.





    • The Welsh Photographic Alliance as it was initially known was renamed The Welsh Photographic Federation in 1951.  At the Annual General Meeting, Gwyn Morgan was elected President and Iestyn Rees became Secretary/Treasurer. A motto was adopted, Heb Wawl, Heb Waith, which in translation means Without Light, Without Work. It was soon agreed that the Federation should join The Photographic Alliance of Great Britain (PAGB). In 1997 the Federation rejoined The Federation Internationale de l`Art Photographique, (FIAP), the world photographic organisation.


    • Walter Hammond BA(Hons) Fimlt, APAGB, became Honorary Secretary of the PAGB from 1961 to 1965 and President from 1965 to 1967. From 1987 to 1989 Eric Taylor LRPS, APAGB followed him in the office of PAGB President.


    In 1994 the Federation initiated its own distinction for photographic merit, Associate of the Welsh Photographic Federation (AWPF) and the Honorary Fellowship of the Welsh Photographic Federation (Hon. FWPF), awarded in recognition of outstanding service to the Federation and its member societies.